+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 65

Thread: Z_Malloc Error loading overlord/silentnight in practice

  1. #11
    Senior Member rzz is on a distinguished road rzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    349
    I tried 'seta com_hunkmegs "256"' in autoexec.cfg, but when I get into the game and check, it's still set to 128.

    Still, 128 should be fine, shouldn't it? Or do the terra maps require 256? (As I said, this only happens in practice mode. I can play the maps online.)

  2. #12
    Member Orgazmo is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    87
    1) QL should load the autoexec.cfg automatically. But, you can try to open the console and type: exec autoexec (without .cfg).

    2) I use autoexec.cfg to load my own config. I set com_hunkmegs not in the autoexec.cfg, but in my own cfg. Thats works.

  3. #13
    Senior Member Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,351
    This does seem to be a bug with the terra maps.. I hadn't seen you were talking about practice mode only earlier

    com_hunkmegs does also seem to be stuck at 128.

    '** Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 4194328 bytes from the main zone
    Please report the the problem you encountered on the Quake Live forums.
    You must reload the web page to make this display go away.'
    Last edited by Yakumo; 12-15-2010 at 08:32 AM.

  4. #14
    Senior Member rzz is on a distinguished road rzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    349
    Quote Originally Posted by Orgazmo View Post
    1) QL should load the autoexec.cfg automatically. But, you can try to open the console and type: exec autoexec (without .cfg).

    2) I use autoexec.cfg to load my own config. I set com_hunkmegs not in the autoexec.cfg, but in my own cfg. Thats works.
    Thanks for trying to help, but I have the same setup. I've tried to set hunkmegs in autoexec as well as in my own config. It's still at 128 when I check in-game.

    Anyway, I don't really care about that unless the terra maps require hunkmegs above 128, which hasn't been established yet.

  5. #15
    Senior Member rzz is on a distinguished road rzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    349
    Quote Originally Posted by Yakumo View Post
    This does seem to be a bug with the terra maps.. I hadn't seen you were talking about practice mode only earlier

    '** Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 4194328 bytes from the main zone
    Please report the the problem you encountered on the Quake Live forums.
    You must reload the web page to make this display go away.'
    OK, thanks. I'm sure it will be sorted out soon enough. As long as it works online I'm happy

  6. #16
    Senior Member pietsen is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    107

    Z_Malloc error

    Code:
    ** Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 4194328 bytes from the main zone
    Please report the the problem you encountered on the Quake Live forums.
    You must reload the web page to make this display go away.
    This is what i get when i try to start a Practice match in the map overlord . I am standard user.


    edit: okay, can be deleted, obviously there is another thread with the same problem :<

  7. #17
    Junior Member Night_Crawler is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    12
    and recently i got this message when I tried to play a practice match in map Silent Night:
    ** Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 4194328 bytes from the main zone
    Please report the the problem you encountered on the Quake Live forums.
    You must reload the web page to make this display go away.
    But I can play (in practice) in Winter Edge. What does this mean?

  8. #18
    Junior Member Warlock2ndSRIG is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    Same error here (Z_Malloc: failed....) when attempting to play Silent Night in practice. Had same problem with Winter's Edge in practice last night but has resolved itself. Using FF.

  9. #19
    *unnammedplayer
    Guest
    i get the same thing :
    ** Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 4194328 bytes from the main zone
    Please report the the problem you encountered on the Quake Live forums.
    You must reload the web page to make this display go away.

  10. #20
    *R41N
    Guest
    Same thing, i set the com_hunkmegs at 256, still does does it with this message :

    ** Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 4194328 bytes from the main zone
    Please report the the problem you encountered on the Quake Live forums.
    You must reload the web page to make this display go away.

    And doesnt this com_hunkmegs allow more or less RAM or something for loading the maps?

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts