+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 15 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 164

Thread: The Ultimate Quake Live Guide

  1. #41
    *PrA
    Guest
    Nah, I added that comment manually when writing the post just so I wouldn't be pasting all of my config and letting you know that I was just focusing on the LG script.

    I downloaded your config and tested it right out of the box and it works, just like you said. I really don't know what is wrong with mine.
    I'm gonna try and see if I can fix it and paste the results. Thanks for your help.

  2. #42
    *PrA
    Guest
    Oh man, I'm such a ******. Although I binded all the weapons correctly I forgot to bind MOUSE1 "+zfire", I left it as MOUSE1 "+attack".
    Sorry I ever doubted your config. Works great now, thank you very much.

  3. #43
    Senior Member Mr_Bombadil1 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    186
    anyone know what r_floatingpointFBOs does? thx

  4. #44
    Senior Member Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,217
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Bombadil1 View Post
    anyone know what r_floatingpointFBOs does? thx
    OpenGL Floating Point Frame Buffer Objects.

    mostly (only?) used for post processing effects in quakelive, can alter performance on cards do, or don't support it properly.

  5. #45
    *RustyLazer
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Yakumo
    More advanced users may like to create YourName.cfg in the same
    directory with all your permanent settings & scripts, and just have
    'exec YourName.cfg' in autoexec.cfg

    \Exec name.cfg is the console command to run a config.

    ...

    In autoexec.cfg I just have :

    Code:
    exec Yakumo.cfg

    //end
    Just wanted to say, this was a HUGE help for me. I was having terrible issues with my cfg loading correctly and would have to manually input some final adjustments every time I joined a game. Thanks this this simple, but huge time saving tip for me!

    And sweet job on the rest of the guide!!

  6. #46
    Senior Member Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,217
    A nice QL icon for use with prism or Chrome applications instead of the QL websites current favicon which is quite ugly when stretched larger as prism/chrome does by default.

    It looks like this but with an opaque background so it shows as a circular icon :

    http://cdn.quakelive.com/web/2010083...10083102.0.jpg

    created with IcoFX (free)
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Yakumo; 09-13-2010 at 03:42 PM.

  7. #47
    Senior Member KittenIgnition is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    #<3.io
    Posts
    3,746
    my icon for QL in prism is:

    http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/739/q3v0.jpg

    but since its an .ico, i opened it in paint and saved as .jpeg so its really ugly

  8. #48
    *Beefcurtan
    Guest
    okay im totally new to quake ......
    anyway..
    my mouse wont work to aim, shoot, or even move for that matter.
    can anyone help me.??????? D;

  9. #49
    Senior Member Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,217
    Quote Originally Posted by Beefcurtan View Post
    okay im totally new to quake ......
    anyway..
    my mouse wont work to aim, shoot, or even move for that matter.
    can anyone help me.??????? D;
    Sticky: The Mouse Fix

  10. #50
    Senior Member Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,217
    putting this here for a bit, going to check the algorythm and maybe update the guide with it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lorfa View Post
    your sensitivity and mouseaccel will be scaled when you zoom in, rendering your normal sensitivity and mouseaccel numbers completely different. To correct for this you have to know the scaling algorithm used by quake live, this is:

    arctan[ 0.75 * tan( cg_zoomfov / 2 ) ] / arctan[ 0.75 * tan( cg_fov / 2 ) ]

    Note: tan(90) is undefined so use 89.999999999 or so in the case of cg_fov 180 or it will not work. Also make sure to specify that you are using degrees as many programs will assume radians. ALT+0176 is the degrees symbol.

    It produces a decimal which is the scaling ratio that the sensitivity and mouseaccel are both multiplied by. So, if my fov was 180, and my zoomfov 95, I would have a ratio of 0.4367.

    If I used sensitivity 5 it would change my sensitivity to 5*0.4367 = 2.1835
    If I used cl_mouseaccel 0.15, it would change it to 0.15*0.4367 = 0.065505

    Now that you have this information it's just a manner of algebra to set your sensitivity and mouseaccel to a corrected value:

    Corrected Sensitivity = Previous Sensitivity / ScalingRatio
    Corrected Mouseaccel = Previous Mouseaccel / ScalingRatio

    So for the above example, this would be sensitivity 5/0.4367 = 11.4495
    and mouseaccel 0.15/0.4367 = 0.34348523

    Now when zoomed in from fov 180 to zoomfov 95, my sensitivity will be the one I was using before this monkey business.

    Personally I don't use this because it is a hassle, and I also like to use a zoom key, so I had to calculate everything again for that fov. I'll make an example vstr for that if you are interested.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts