+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 18 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 14 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 172

Thread: The Ultimate Quake Live Guide

  1. #31
    Member onefunkyone is on a distinguished road onefunkyone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    The Longest Yard
    Posts
    88
    Great post I'm sure it will help alot of people.

    For a few days now I've been looking for a special tweak. Back in q3 days I saw a guy that wrote a script that would change the rail color every time he fired a shot.
    Could you help me with that?!

    Thanx!

  2. #32
    Senior Member Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,886
    Quote Originally Posted by [B
    driftin[/B]]
    bind mouse1 "+attack; vstr railcolor" //change to your own fire key
    set railcolor vstr rc8
    set rc8 "color1 1; color2 2; set railcolor vstr rc9"
    set rc9 "color1 2; color2 3; set railcolor vstr rc10"
    set rc10 "color1 3; color2 4; set railcolor vstr rc11"
    set rc11 "color1 4; color2 5; set railcolor vstr rc12"
    set rc12 "color1 5; color2 6; set railcolor vstr rc13"
    set rc13 "color1 6; color2 7; set railcolor vstr rc14"
    set rc14 "color1 7; color2 1; set railcolor vstr rc15"
    set rc15 "color1 1; color2 3; set railcolor vstr rc16"
    set rc16 "color1 2; color2 4; set railcolor vstr rc17"
    set rc17 "color1 3; color2 5; set railcolor vstr rc18"
    set rc18 "color1 4; color2 6; set railcolor vstr rc19"
    set rc19 "color1 5; color2 7; set railcolor vstr rc20"
    set rc20 "color1 6; color2 1; set railcolor vstr rc21"
    set rc21 "color1 7; color2 2; set railcolor vstr rc22"
    set rc22 "color1 1; color2 4; set railcolor vstr rc23"
    set rc23 "color1 2; color2 5; set railcolor vstr rc24"
    set rc24 "color1 3; color2 6; set railcolor vstr rc25"
    set rc25 "color1 4; color2 7; set railcolor vstr rc26"
    set rc26 "color1 5; color2 1; set railcolor vstr rc27"
    set rc27 "color1 6; color2 2; set railcolor vstr rc28"
    set rc28 "color1 7; color2 3; set railcolor vstr rc29"
    set rc29 "color1 1; color2 5; set railcolor vstr rc30"
    set rc30 "color1 2; color2 6; set railcolor vstr rc31"
    set rc31 "color1 3; color2 7; set railcolor vstr rc32"
    set rc32 "color1 4; color2 1; set railcolor vstr rc33"
    set rc33 "color1 5; color2 2; set railcolor vstr rc34"
    set rc34 "color1 6; color2 3; set railcolor vstr rc35"
    set rc35 "color1 7; color2 4; set railcolor vstr rc36"
    set rc36 "color1 1; color2 6; set railcolor vstr rc37"
    set rc37 "color1 2; color2 7; set railcolor vstr rc38"
    set rc38 "color1 3; color2 1; set railcolor vstr rc39"
    set rc39 "color1 4; color2 2; set railcolor vstr rc40"
    set rc40 "color1 5; color2 3; set railcolor vstr rc41"
    set rc41 "color1 6; color2 4; set railcolor vstr rc42"
    set rc42 "color1 7; color2 5; set railcolor vstr rc43"
    set rc43 "color1 1; color2 7; set railcolor vstr rc44"
    set rc44 "color1 2; color2 1; set railcolor vstr rc45"
    set rc45 "color1 3; color2 2; set railcolor vstr rc46"
    set rc46 "color1 4; color2 3; set railcolor vstr rc47"
    set rc47 "color1 5; color2 4; set railcolor vstr rc48"
    set rc48 "color1 6; color2 5; set railcolor vstr rc49"
    set rc49 "color1 7; color2 6; set railcolor vstr rc8"
    this should work, thoghut it's using the old colour system (only 7 colours). it would change the rail setting every time you press fire no matter what weapon selected.

  3. #33
    Member onefunkyone is on a distinguished road onefunkyone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    The Longest Yard
    Posts
    88
    Thnx!
    Will try that in a bit but I'm sure this will work!

    _________

    UPDATEs

    Ok it works great, but I get kicked from server flooding (or something like that)

    gonna use this on rail select instead of fire
    Last edited by onefunkyone; 08-16-2010 at 11:32 PM.

  4. #34
    Junior Member djcanard is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Xnap View Post
    I remember that there was a "The Ultimate Console Variables and Commands Guide" where was list of all console comands. I can't find it now. Is it still somewhere available?
    It's still available in Google cache, but a new edition is coming up soon I think.

    http://webcache.googleusercontent.co...hp%3Ft%3D52612

  5. #35
    Senior Member Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,886
    Quote Originally Posted by djcanard View Post
    It's still available in Google cache, but a new edition is coming up soon I think.

    http://webcache.googleusercontent.co...hp%3Ft%3D52612

    I fixed that already with a better version
    Quote Originally Posted by Yakumo View Post
    Fixed Advanced Client Options link to ESR version by Mav_ as it was more up to date than the lost old thread.

  6. #36
    Junior Member aleb is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    7
    The "Check out ESRealitys mouse comparison page" link points to this URL http://www.esreality.com/?a=longpost...79&page=21 but the page looks empty. Should it point to this one, instead? http://www.esreality.com/?a=post&id=1265679

    BTW, in the section about mice you don't say what would be a minimum DPI. Any suggestion?

    I find the MOUSE SENSITIVITY CALCULATION section a bit unclear.. At some point you mention that "If it's less than 3 inches (7.5cm) then I would argue that your sensitivity set-up is far to high for accurate play", so I understand this is a minimum; so far so good. Then you mention a "formula to compute sensitivity in inch/cm for a 360" - what the heck is that, and what do I do with that value? Is it an alternate way to obtain the distance by following the steps 1-2-3 (moving your mouse until you make a 360)?

    I find this title "You need to change your sensitivity setting when you change your FOV setting" a better one for the "fov sens change calc" section.

    Thanks!
    Last edited by aleb; 08-26-2010 at 03:32 AM. Reason: minor corrections

  7. #37
    Junior Member holzer is an unknown quantity at this point
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    7
    Impressive guide! ThanxXx Yakumo for your generous post!

  8. #38
    *PrA
    Guest
    I tried to use your LG script to change the sensitivity while firing but to no success. It just doesn't work for me as it doesn't change neither the sensitivity, the crosshair or anything really.

    This is what I have:
    Code:
    seta _Gaunt "weapon 1;_zFireOff"				
    seta _MG "weapon 2;_zFireOff"
    seta _SG "weapon 3;_zFireOff" 
    seta _GL "weapon 4;_zFireOff"
    seta _RL "weapon 5;_zFireOff"
    seta _LG "weapon 6;_zFireOn"		// runs special settings forfor lg only, 
    seta _RG "weapon 7;_zFireOff"
    seta _PG "weapon 8;_zFireOff"
    seta _BFG "weapon 9;_zFireOff"
    seta _NG "weapon 11;_zFireOff"
    seta _PX "weapon 12;_zFireOff"
    seta _CG "weapon 13;_zFireOff"
    
    ....
    binds and vars etc..
    ...
    
    // -------------------------------   +zFire script --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    // This script lets you alter what +zfire does for the lg, +zfire is used to replace any bind that was just to "+attack"  before
    //				you need either _zFireOn or _zFireOff in all weapon binds for it to work properly 
    //    so I only want it to change my crosshair as i fire with the LG, so all weapons other than the LG use _zFireOff
    
    
    alias -zfire "-attack;vstr _chDefaultStyle"  //changes back to all default weaponsettings 
    alias +zfire "+attack"							//setup +zfire or you wouldn't be able to fire or change who you spectate until you change a weapon.
    
    alias zFirePt2 "+attack;vstr _LgSettings" //2nd stage alias as otherwise you can't script more than one thing to change in an alias, loads all lg settings.
    alias _zFireOn "alias +zfire zFirePt2" 
    
    alias _zFireOff "alias +zfire +attack;vstr _chDefaultStyle" //do NOT call -zfire as it uses -attack it would stop next weapon firing, if fire as held during a change
    																				// just revert reset +zfire to +attack only and as this is called on weapon change, loadDefWeapSettings too.
    
    // ------ LG Settings -----------------------
    
    seta _LgSettings "sensitivity 4; cg_crosshairSize 40;" // fine cross 38
    
    // ------ Default Settings -----------------------
    
    seta _chDefaultStyle "sensitivity 6; cg_crosshairSize 32;" //set DEFAULT sensitivity
    Any help would be appreciated. Anyway thanks for the great guide.

  9. #39
    Senior Member Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,886
    i'd have to see how you'd tried to impliment it into your cfg, you've just copied a few parts from mine there.

    you must bind keys/mousebuttons/wheel whatever to 'vstr _lg' etc instead of binding to 'weapon 6'
    Last edited by Yakumo; 08-31-2010 at 03:03 PM.

  10. #40
    *PrA
    Guest
    yup, I did that:
    Code:
    bind f "vstr _LG"
    I really don't understand why it doesn't work. Is it still working for you since the latest patches and all?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts