+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Do the bots justice: make them competitive.

*sjn

Do the bots justice: make them competitive.

Morning / Evening, ladies / gentlemen.

I have no intention whatsoever to complain nor whine about anything at all. I am a pro subscriber, and I am more than happy with what Quake Live has become. Like many others, I am getting increasingly irritated with people who cannot seem to understand why a game that used to be free (and still is) now is economically compelled to offer new paying content to carry the project, not to mention those among them who firmly believe that developers are being paid to release a major update each and every time that a new thread is started.

I have a suggestion, though.

What I am wishing for, since every suggestion ultimately comes down to what our wishes are, is a (far) more competitive artificial intelligence. I am very much aware that there are many other bugs and glitches that need fixing, I do not even know whether improving bots has ever been or will ever be taken into consideration. What I know is that there is plenty of room for improvement, something that the SpiterBot Team has undeniably proven to be true.

Why more competitive bots, do you ask? Obvisouly, no artificial intelligence algorythm will ever match the human brain. I know, too, that the only way to get any better is to challenge increasingly smarter (hence better) players than oneself. Why, then?

- First of all, bots being nothing more than lengthy portions of code with no life outside Quake Live, they are available 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. Not all of us are lucky enough to have friends who can provide us with a real challenge whenever we are willing to play, no matter how early in the morning or late at night.

- Bots can be requisitioned for whatever gametype that we are feeling like playing at any given time, be it a Duel, a Free-for-All or a team-based match of any size.