View Poll Results: Should iD create a desktop client for Quake Live?

Voters
207. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    193 93.24%
  • No

    14 6.76%
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Quake Live Desktop Client

  1. #1
    Senior Member Schutzengel is on a distinguished road Schutzengel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Plano, Texas
    Posts
    533

    Quake Live Desktop Client

    There should be a desktop client for Quake Live. CPMA and Quake 3 run fine without problems but Quake Live has lots of issues with crashing due to being in browser.

  2. #2
    *Domino
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by 1337_Byte View Post
    There should be a desktop client for Quake Live. CPMA and Quake 3 run fine without problems but Quake Live has lots of issues with crashing due to being in browser.
    Get prism
    http://www.quakelive.com/forum/showt...5-PRISM-Use-it!

  3. #3
    Senior Member Schutzengel is on a distinguished road Schutzengel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Plano, Texas
    Posts
    533
    I've used it but it doesn't solve everything. These crashes in different browsers/OS could be remedied if they created a stable desktop client.

    This guy explains pretty well why Quake Live in-browser doesn't even make sense:
    http://www.hanselman.com/blog/QuakeL...teresting.aspx

  4. #4
    Senior Member Kyto is on a distinguished road Kyto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Salo, Finland
    Posts
    204
    I want to play windowed 1280x800 (can't properly do with browser even with the greasemonkey script).

  5. #5
    Senior Member m3t3or is on a distinguished road m3t3or's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    254
    Quote Originally Posted by 1337_Byte View Post
    This guy explains pretty well why Quake Live in-browser doesn't even make sense:
    http://www.hanselman.com/blog/QuakeL...teresting.aspx
    Actually it seems the guy from your link has no idea what it means to write OS - indepentant software. Did you ever try to code something which runs on Linux,OSX and WIn32/Win64 ? And that with the same GUI-Design, etc. on each OS? A web-browser (WIthin html as unified GUI programming language) makes this alot more esasy!
    The fact of having a OS specifc installer which installs different libs for each OS/browser is just logic and perfectly makes sense.

    I dont see any advantage of having cloned all GUI's, etc. for each OS, just for having the QL-application startable offline, from Desktop.
    A much better, and logic approach would be an offline mode in the browser ... as well this would be alot more easy to implement.

    So @topic: F2

  6. #6
    *Rammsteiner
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by m3t3or View Post
    Actually it seems the guy from your link has no idea what it means to write OS - indepentant software. Did you ever try to code something which runs on Linux,OSX and WIn32/Win64 ? And that with the same GUI-Design, etc. on each OS? A web-browser (WIthin html as unified GUI programming language) makes this alot more esasy!
    The fact of having a OS specifc installer which installs different libs for each OS/browser is just logic and perfectly makes sense.

    I dont see any advantage of having cloned all GUI's, etc. for each OS, just for having the QL-application startable offline, from Desktop.
    A much better, and logic approach would be an offline mode in the browser ... as well this would be alot more easy to implement.

    So @topic: F2
    ACTUALLY, there is no point of making the HTML GUI fully replace the original, since the original GUI for Q3 was platform independent as well. It ran on the Quake Virtual Machine from the file ui.qvm. In fact, it still does (those spectator, join, vote menus, etc). However, I wouldn't mind if the HTML GUI would be made in addition to a desktop startup GUI, since the HTML DOES integrate the game very well to the community site.

  7. #7
    *Loki909
    Guest
    чем скорее тем лучше )))

  8. #8
    Junior Member poodle448 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2
    Prism doesn't work too well. Honestly it's just a bunch of bulkware which will slow down your computer.

  9. #9
    Senior Member swampy will become famous soon enough swampy will become famous soon enough swampy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    The Bar at Drunk Clan
    Posts
    2,502
    Quote Originally Posted by poodle448 View Post
    Prism doesn't work too well. Honestly it's just a bunch of bulkware which will slow down your computer.
    It;s very simple to turn off the scripts you do not wish to use.. Takes about...d'oh 1 minute..
    Drunk Clan Motto--- "Have Fun, Everyone is Welcome"
    drunk clan

    Stay drunk, Play drunk and chill

  10. #10
    Senior Member pikaluva13 will become famous soon enough pikaluva13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    East Lansing, MI
    Posts
    6,206
    Quote Originally Posted by swampy View Post
    It;s very simple to turn off the scripts you do not wish to use.. Takes about...d'oh 1 minute..
    That is if the people actually realize that they're userscripts. There's nothing that points out that it's using userscripts on the website, so people aren't even aware that they can turn them off or remove them.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts