+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 123

Thread: Running Quake Live in Firefox 4, 5 and 6 on Linux [fixes inside]

  1. #11
    Junior Member LinuxFromRussia is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Diplodok View Post
    Hmm, are you on x86-64? What does console say? Or aboutlugins?
    Yes, uname -m -> x86_64... AMD Phenom II x6.
    I found strange thing... "No plugins were detected".
    aboutlugins -> No enabled plugins found

    How to enable them? Although it seems that this is firefox problem...

  2. #12
    Senior Member Lam has a spectacular aura about Lam has a spectacular aura about Lam has a spectacular aura about Lam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,763
    With Firefox 4.0, you need to also add
    <em:unpack>true</em:unpack>
    to install.rdf.

    Previously I was testing with installing on 3.6 and then upgrading to 4.0. Installing on a clean 4.0 needs forced unpacking.

  3. #13
    Junior Member wqwar is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    since yesterday patch update didn't work on ff 4.0
    updated on ff 3.6.* and then restart on ff 4.0

    my particulary solution

    install.rdf (edited after patch) :

    <em:minVersion>1.5</em:minVersion>
    <em:maxVersion>4.*.*</em:maxVersion>

  4. #14
    *jordicoma11
    Guest
    I think I "solved" the problem (workarround), just extract the plugin .so (64 bits one in my case) in firefox plugin directory. In my case is ~/.mozilla/plugins/npquakelive.x64.so
    Now seems that load.
    Note: with the modification of install.rdf it let me install, but in about:config is wasn't actived.
    ..............
    I tested, works great (with a minimum sound problem, probably unrelated).
    Last edited by jordicoma11; 03-17-2011 at 05:53 AM.

  5. #15
    Junior Member stlava is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Posts
    18

    Firefox 4 & Linux

    The quakelive loader plugin is currently not supported :-/ Any word on an update?
    Quake Live Shoutcasting
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    www.quake-live.tv | #ql.tv | www.slavamarkeyev.com

  6. #16
    Senior Member Lam has a spectacular aura about Lam has a spectacular aura about Lam has a spectacular aura about Lam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,763
    Full install.rdf working for Firefox 3.x and 4.x (plus SeaMonkey 2.0 and probably others) on Linux:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    
    <RDF xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#"
         xmlns:em="http://www.mozilla.org/2004/em-rdf#">
      <Description about="urn:mozilla:install-manifest">
        <em:id>quakeliveplugin@idsoftware.com</em:id>
        <em:version>1.0.433</em:version>
        <!-- Target Application this theme can install into,
            with minimum and maximum supported versions. -->
        <em:targetApplication>
          <Description>
            <em:id>toolkit@mozilla.org</em:id>
            <em:minVersion>1.9</em:minVersion>
            <em:maxVersion>5.0.*</em:maxVersion>
          </Description>
        </em:targetApplication>
        <em:name>QuakeLive.com Game Launcher</em:name>
        <em:description>Extension required for play on www.quakelive.com</em:description>
        <em:creator>id Software, Inc.</em:creator>
        <em:unpack>true</em:unpack>
        <!-- Add update links here -->
      </Description>
    </RDF>
    I've highlighted lines which I've changed/added.

    In order to use this, first you need to download the xpi (right-click on the "click here" link and save somewhere). Then open the xpi with any archive manager (xpi is a zip archive) and edit the file "install.rdf" inside it. Easy as pie.
    Last edited by Lam; 07-08-2011 at 09:39 AM. Reason: changed 2.0.* to 5.0.*

  7. #17
    Senior Member Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,281
    Quote Originally Posted by F1r3Fl3x View Post
    Firefox 4 ? It's been out for two weeks now
    FF 4.0 final was officially launched today, though you could get it from direct mirror links last night, but that was the earliest.

    Hopefully they will release fixes for any issues soon, but they don't spend time working on pre-release builds that may change before release.

  8. #18
    Junior Member stlava is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Posts
    18
    Diplodok thanks for the info.
    Quake Live Shoutcasting
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    www.quake-live.tv | #ql.tv | www.slavamarkeyev.com

  9. #19
    *rea987
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by jordicoma11 View Post
    I think I "solved" the problem (workarround), just extract the plugin .so (64 bits one in my case) in firefox plugin directory. In my case is ~/.mozilla/plugins/npquakelive.x64.so
    Now seems that load.
    Note: with the modification of install.rdf it let me install, but in about:config is wasn't actived.
    ..............
    I tested, works great (with a minimum sound problem, probably unrelated).
    jordicoma11's workaround worked for me in Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat with Firefox 4.0 (final). Thank you all...

  10. #20
    Junior Member sector_ is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    after that install i dont have sound in QL. Any idea?

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts