+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: QuakeLive Plugin won't download, continuous loop to EULA page

  1. #1
    Member Elvis is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    31

    QuakeLive Plugin won't download, continuous loop to EULA page

    A similar thread was started but got taken over by mac users with a slightly different problem and this issue was never addressed.
    Thread: http://www.quakelive.com/forum/showt...too-new)/page7

    On a fresh system with no previous QuakeLive install, windows vista 64 home prem, internet explore 8 32-bit

    Go to http://www.quakelive.com/ and Logged in

    I get the no cookies error so

    -added http://www.quakelive.com/ to trusted sites
    -added http://www.quakelive.com/ to allow list for cookies
    -added http://www.quakelive.com/ to allow list for pop-up blocker
    -Server verification for trusted sites is not checked

    Still get the no cookies error so

    -added https://secure.quakelive.com/ to trusted sites
    -added https://secure.quakelive.com/ to allow list for cookies
    -added https://secure.quakelive.com/ to allow list for pop-up blocker
    -Server verification for trusted sites is not checked

    This fixed the no cookies error

    Now after logging into http://www.quakelive.com/ I get the EULA page and I click Agree.

    The plugin download page comes up and the top download bar pops up.

    I click Download and the page goes back to the EULA page where if I click agree it takes me back to the download page and over cycles over and over without ever actually downloading the plugin.

    -Tried clearing out all temp files, cache cookies etc several times
    -Tried downloading from safemode (make sure it wasn't an application interfering)
    -Tried using the Google public DNS instead of the one automatically obtained from my ISP
    -Tried using my laptop thats running a different operating system and settings and got the exact same issue

    None of that helped so went to cnet downloads and found the quakelive plugin and tried to manually download the plugin from there. It downloaded and installed then I got the following error message:

    "Module C:\ProgramData\id Software\QuakeLive\QuakeZeroIEHelper.ocx failed to register. HRESULT -2147010895. Contact your support personnel."

    http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y5/...eliveerror.jpg

    Clicking 'Try again' did not work so I clicked 'Continue' and it completed.

    I tried going back to the http://www.quakelive.com/ and after loggin on it put me right back in the plugin EULA loop!!!!!

    This link http://www.quakelive.com/forum/showt...gin-start-play refers to this issue but where exactly can you find a download link that you can right click to save as for the plugin?

    I applied the MS fix for the .ocx error http://www.quakelive.com/forum/showt...ed-to-register

    Can someone please help with this problem?
    Last edited by Elvis; 11-18-2010 at 01:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Member Elvis is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    31
    -Now that the issues with the website are resolved I tried again and the issue is still there. I also uninstalled the manually downloaded plugin and tried again and that did not work either.

    -Even though I have tried to download this plugin when using safe mode and everything is off except network drivers I decided to try to make exception rules in the firewall for Quakelive and then turning the firewall off completely and of course I reloaded the broswer after such changes and this did not help either.

    -I just checked both my Java runtime envrionment and Flash, still looping back to EULA
    Last edited by Elvis; 11-18-2010 at 01:33 PM.

  3. #3
    Member Elvis is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    31
    Issue resolved, if anyone needs details just post here I'm still subscribed

  4. #4
    Junior Member SubL0ck is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Hello, i need help with exactly the same problem

  5. #5
    Senior Member Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo has a spectacular aura about Yakumo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,227
    which should have sorted you out.
    The 'version too new' problem was mac exclusive for a long time, with the exception of maybe half a day at one point for PC users, so I wouldn't say the thread you mentioned was hijacked.

    I'm glad you fixed it though.
    using Firefox or Chrome is a much easier, quicker, and better experience still however.

    seeing as you seemed to have followed
    Problem? please READ THIS FIRST contains FIXES to
    InternetExplorer - Can't install plugin/start play -solution
    and Can't install QuakeZeroIEHelper.ocx failed to register

    but that didn't help, please could you state what was the issue in the end, as it would be good to add to the sticky if necessary for others.
    Last edited by Yakumo; 01-13-2011 at 07:59 PM.

  6. #6
    *aj69
    Guest

    Unhappy still no fix

    so we still dont even have a fix for this bug!!!! ive even tried google chrome.down loaded all ms updates and ati updates checked several threads within the forum. but still no fix we need help please.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts