+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: New nvidia Driver causes crash again and again

  1. #1
    Senior Member cyberdemon74 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    125

    New nvidia Driver causes crash again and again

    After installing

    260.89_desktop_win7_winvista_64bit_international_w hql.exe

    i noticed several crashes when trying to join a premium server.
    when i went back to old driver its all fine again.

    258.96_desktop_win7_winvista_64bit_international_w hql.exe

  2. #2
    Junior Member n0x1ous is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    Same problem....site loads fine and then when i try to launch into a match i get "** GLW_CreateWindow: could not register window class
    Please report the the problem you encountered on the Quake Live forums.
    You must reload the web page to make this display go away."

    That is in firefox. if i use IE i get a fatal error when trying to launch into a game.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Dowser is on a distinguished road Dowser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    840
    Did you guys already try the solutions in the GLW_CreateWindow:could not register window class (or grey screen/crash on start) thread linked in the Problem? PLEASE READ THIS FIRST BEFORE POSTING sticky thread in Technical Support?
    Forum Rules || Forum Search || Forum Settings (your control panel) || Technical Support (sticky!) || How to Report a Bug
    “Read more, type less; whine less, play more.”
    Happy fragging!

  4. #4
    Senior Member SHAKEANDBAKE has a little shameless behaviour in the past
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    307
    Quote Originally Posted by cyberdemon74 View Post
    After installing

    260.89_desktop_win7_winvista_64bit_international_w hql.exe

    i noticed several crashes when trying to join a premium server.
    when i went back to old driver its all fine again.

    258.96_desktop_win7_winvista_64bit_international_w hql.exe
    I think quake live doesn't support 64bit
    so switch back to 32

  5. #5
    Senior Member Salamatiqus is on a distinguished road Salamatiqus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Astana, Kazakhstan
    Posts
    1,538
    Cool. You advising to install 32-bit drivers into 64-bit Windows system. They will thank you. Heavily.
    bind END "quit'

  6. #6
    Senior Member cyberdemon74 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    125
    OMG

    i will never install a 32 Bit driver into a 64 Bit system, and i also dont have anyproblems with IE 8 !
    I TOLD YOU that the new driver is the problem, why dont you read what i write ?
    furthermore firefox crashes also very often all the time, so i use IE 8.
    yes i am happy with that.

    @ dowser

    dont you understand what i write ? i have a problem with the NEW nvidia driver.
    stop telling me where to look, since i know exactly what the problem is, you better bugfix the driver problem/issue.

    @ n0x1ous

    blame yourself, why do you use firefox ?
    try instead the INTERNET EXPLORER 8 and tell me if it still crashes.
    i also had many problems with FF, it suxx für QL big time. for me.
    I have Windows 7 64 Bit and it runs absolute fine and stable with IE 8.
    I thought it would be interesting in this forum to tell that the new nvidia driver causes crashes on IE 8 but it seems nobodoy care.
    Last edited by cyberdemon74; 10-23-2010 at 04:43 AM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member cyberdemon74 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by SHAKEANDBAKE View Post
    I think quake live doesn't support 64bit
    so switch back to 32
    QL works fine in Windows 7 64 Bit, there are 2 things i have to avoid: Firefox and the new nvidia driver, thats it.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Dowser is on a distinguished road Dowser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    840
    Quote Originally Posted by cyberdemon74 View Post
    dont you understand what i write ? i have a problem with the NEW nvidia driver.
    stop telling me where to look
    Note to self: cyberdemon74 doesn't want my help.

    Yes I understand what you write; I also don't see some specifics asked for in the How to Report Bugs sticky, e.g. an actual crash report or error message. n0x1ous posted one and, guess what? There's a whole thread with solutions for that error message so FOR ALL I KNOW you could use one of those solutions to make the new Nvidia driver work on your system. I don't have Win7 or an Nvidia card so there's no way I can try any of this out. All I did was ask if you'd tried them already.

    Silly me for trying to put that together myself and offer you my would-be assistance when you've got it all so thoroughly figured out.

    Quote Originally Posted by cyberdemon74 View Post
    i know exactly what the problem is, you better bugfix the driver problem/issue.
    I "better" do what now? Why? I work for who now? You? id? Zenimax? Nvidia? OH THAT'S RIGHT I don't work for any of those people—least of all you. So I don't much appreciate being ordered around in response to an attempt to help you, not to mention the threatening way in which you worded it.
    Last edited by Dowser; 10-23-2010 at 05:10 AM.
    Forum Rules || Forum Search || Forum Settings (your control panel) || Technical Support (sticky!) || How to Report a Bug
    “Read more, type less; whine less, play more.”
    Happy fragging!

  9. #9
    Senior Member Salamatiqus is on a distinguished road Salamatiqus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Astana, Kazakhstan
    Posts
    1,538
    Guys, we all need some rest :\
    bind END "quit'

  10. #10
    Senior Member Ouxouiga is on a distinguished road Ouxouiga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Here too often instead of playing QL...
    Posts
    1,910

    Cool

    OK. 32 bit, 64 bit...

    Any consideration or thought that the video card processor is 128 and memory is 256 bit? On newer cards anyway.
    The drivers are software interface/translators and one of the jobs/purposes of them is to regulate the data flow and interfacing. < Slight bottlenecking effect here.
    Yes I know that there are specific drivers for 32 or 64 bit. It is up to the individual to download and install the correct ones. So no matter what drivers, on which system, the card interfacing firmware and system kernel determines which will be allowed to be installed. If you try to install the wrong ones for your system, it will produce an error stating that there is an incorrect version match. Or something similar to that. I haven't seen it too often, as I know which to download and install.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts