+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: new layout "a1" [ALPHA] ffa tourney

  1. #1
    Junior Member pathy is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    15

    new layout "a2" [ALPHA] ffa tourney

    Change log version a2:
    - reworked YA drop down room
    - separated RG hallway into two areas
    - added lighting for your eyes
    - put more thought into item placement
    - added regen
    - slightly resized many areas
    - added shoot-through holes to MH bridge
    - many other little structural tweaks
    - fixed bug where bots got stuck in the lava

    ---

    Hey, guys. Thanks again for all your great feedback on my last map.

    I've got a new layout in the works that could use some testing. It's a two-atrium ffa/tourney map. Bot support is included. Can anyone help?



    DOWNLOAD "A2"

    I'm looking for feedback on:
    - Overall structure and balance
    - Item placement (big or small items)
    - Teleporter destinations
    - Any interesting jumps that could be added
    - Is it fun to play?

    Notes:
    - The spiral ramp will eventually be stairs
    - Shards x 5 will be a green armor in Quake Live
    - Bouncers may go a little too high

    Thanks!
    pat
    Last edited by pathy; 08-23-2014 at 12:25 AM.

  2. #2
    Member OXOTHuK is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sibiria
    Posts
    33
    My feedback

    1. May be here to place the second green armor?
    https://db.tt/PYjYoizf

    2. Plasma to replace shotgun.

    3. Grenadelauncher to replace plasma.

    4. Shotgun to replace grenadelauncher.

    5. The bridge on the map as FuriosHeights?
    https://db.tt/rx1QIS7O
    OXOTHuK [RUS] = Hunter [ENG]
    My page

  3. #3
    Junior Member pathy is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    15
    @OXOTHuK: I know, that one part reminds me a little bit of Furious Heights as well . It wasn't intentional. Actually, the map was inspired by Blood Run more than anything else.

    I'm releasing a second version of this layout. I wouldn't say there are any huge changes, but it definitely plays a bit differently after reworking some areas and putting a lot more thought into item placement.

    The link and the change log are updated at the top.

    pat

  4. #4
    Junior Member me is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    25
    I can't try the new version


    Quake Live 0.1.0.879 win-x86 Aug 8 2014 21:02:03
    ----- FS_Startup -----
    ----- CL_Shutdown -----
    -----------------------
    FS_LoadZipFile: failed to load pak file. max file handles in EncryptedFileIO is probably too small.

  5. #5
    Junior Member CZghost is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    22
    @me: You have to start the map from WolfCam in console, it should work fine. PK3 is the one that is just renamed ZIP file and that pak official QL launcher doesn't handle.

  6. #6
    Junior Member me is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    25
    Surely but I wouldn't be able to play it!

  7. #7
    Junior Member CZghost is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    22
    Well, I downloaded latest version of WC, tried to load up Courtyard with CTF gametype and added a bot here. Yes, you should be able to play the map in WC, otherwise you have wrong version or you have installed something little different than the WC is... Use /map a2 or /devmap a2 (for cheats enable), then you could use menu to add bots here or add them by /addbot <botname> <skill>.

  8. #8
    Junior Member me is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    25
    hey thanks, I had no idea that it was possible to play with Wolfcam.

  9. #9
    Junior Member CZghost is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    22
    Still the map is Q3 version developed with Q3 assets, tough it can be meant to be played in QL. I use Quake 3 to test the map as I treat the author to make the map also for VQ3 for fun, not only QL for competitive game. Sure there are some gameplay issues as Q3 use a bit different physics, QL has taken plenty of physics code from ProMode modification of Q3 and plenty of them made optional. I already wrote feedback in Q3W forums taking a note about that. I'm not much sure for which game it is developed, if for Q3 or QL, he says that he included five AS in a place there would be GA in QL, but I'm not sure he want to make map available also for VQ3 players that like to use the original old-school game. That way I would suggest him to replace 5 AS by YA, it will raise the amout of points, but it should not rush the gameplay.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts