+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Skill Levels and Tiers / Gun sounds

*ArcDusky

Skill Levels and Tiers / Gun sounds

Hey, I read some of the other posts on here about Tiers and that nobody seems to understand whats up with that, and thats all right, I guess. Whatever...

I am new to QuakeLive. When I started it asked me to choose my skill level. I chose Beginner. After some time playing I began to wonder if QuakeLive is still thinking I am a beginner or not; I guess I thought I was supposed to evolve into my skill level eventually.
    I'm curious if there is a place to manually change your skill level like at the beginning.

Also, I am baffled by some players' ability to know I'm right around a corner, and when I beg for an excuse they reply that they can hear me. They claim the railgun and gauntlets (or switching between them or something) makes a humming noise when it is not being used.
    I, of course, dont experience this advantage and was wondering if anybody knew why. Its not a big deal if I dont find out I guess, Im just curious.

Thank you very much!

Senior Member KittenIgnition is on a distinguished road
    LG and rail (lightning gun and railgun) both hum when youre holding them, and weapon switching also makes a sound. if youre walking, chances are theyre using a forced model (cg_forceenemymodel keel/bright), which makes your footsteps louder. theres also a VERY small chance that theyre using some crazy bloom and can see you a tiny bit better. you need to turn your volume up and use headphones, or youll never get very good at quake. i was kinda surprised when i realized railgun and LG hummed about a year ago (i was watching fatal1ty vs. cooller or something and the commentators were talking about strats and stuff). i dont think the gauntlet makes a hum sound, but it does make a sound when you press +attack, obviously.