+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Bad routing to texas on at&t DSL

  1. #1
    Banned Casoah is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    21

    Bad routing to texas on at&t DSL

    I live in California.
    So this is strange, I get bad routing on at&T dsl (adsl2+ not u-verse, u-verse has bad pings all around because of interleaved mode or w/e)

    For the LA server I get great pings, 10ms lower than Comcast, and in every game I've tried I get lower ping on at&t dsl vs Comcast.

    There's some bad routing going on to the texas server though.


    Here is the tracert for at&t dsl

    Tracing route to 69.174.243.26 over a maximum of 30 hops

    1 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms adsl-70-137-159-254.dsl.snfc21.sbcglobal.net [70
    .137.159.254]
    2 8 ms 7 ms 8 ms dist1-vlan60.snfc21.pbi.net [216.102.187.130]
    3 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms 151.164.102.34
    4 9 ms 11 ms 12 ms gar23.sffca.ip.att.net [12.122.114.5]
    5 * 10 ms 10 ms 192.205.32.210
    6 70 ms 71 ms 70 ms vlan80.csw3.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.152.190]
    7 69 ms 69 ms 69 ms ae-81-81.ebr1.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.153.9]
    8 70 ms 70 ms 73 ms ae-5-5.ebr1.SanJose5.Level3.net [4.69.148.137]
    9 69 ms 69 ms 72 ms ae-1-100.ebr2.SanJose5.Level3.net [4.69.148.110]

    10 70 ms 70 ms 72 ms ae-6-6.ebr2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.69.148.201
    ]
    11 70 ms 69 ms 70 ms ae-3-3.ebr3.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.69.132.78]
    12 70 ms 78 ms 74 ms ae-63-63.csw1.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.69.151.133]

    13 69 ms 70 ms 69 ms ae-1-60.edge9.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.69.145.16]
    14 70 ms 70 ms 70 ms PEER-1-NETW.edge9.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.59.118.6
    ]
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 78 ms 78 ms 77 ms 69.174.243.26

    I get around 80ms ping, but on Comcast I get around 70.

    Comcast tracert:
    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.3.1
    2 45 ms 36 ms 42 ms c-76-126-224-1.hsd1.ca.comcast.net [76.126.224.1
    ]
    3 20 ms 20 ms 16 ms te-7-2-ur06.pleasanton.ca.sfba.comcast.net [68.8
    5.191.69]
    4 51 ms 18 ms 15 ms te-8-1-ur05.pleasanton.ca.sfba.comcast.net [68.8
    7.226.5]
    5 22 ms 18 ms 61 ms te-0-2-0-5-ar01.sfsutro.ca.sfba.comcast.net [68.
    85.155.2]
    6 19 ms 19 ms 19 ms he-1-6-0-0-cr01.sanjose.ca.ibone.comcast.net [68
    .86.90.157]
    7 50 ms 27 ms 31 ms pos-2-4-0-0-cr01.losangeles.ca.ibone.comcast.net
    [68.86.89.230]
    8 56 ms 59 ms 60 ms he-0-9-0-0-cr01.dallas.tx.ibone.comcast.net [68.
    86.87.254]
    9 67 ms 79 ms 63 ms pos-0-4-0-0-pe01.1950stemmons.tx.ibone.comcast.n
    et [68.86.87.218]
    10 63 ms 63 ms 64 ms 173.167.58.14
    11 * * * Request timed out.


    Any ideas? The problem seems to occur in San Jose actually before it even reaches Dallas.




    Here is the winmtr for DSL

    http://pastebin.com/7qFbbPy6


    Here is the winmtr for Comcast
    http://pastebin.com/SxKXF3Be
    Last edited by Casoah; 07-05-2013 at 11:43 PM.

  2. #2
    Banned Casoah is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    21
    If the tracerts are hard to read, check line 6 on the tracert for at&t, thats' where the first spike rises. I am not sure how to format better without just a bunch of pastebins, sry.


    Also when I ping those addresse I only start to get a delay at 4.69.132.78(line 11) when I ping them individually. When I ping the ip at line 6, I get 13ms(which in the tracert shows 70ms for some reason)
    Last edited by Casoah; 07-06-2013 at 12:08 AM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member c3 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    276
    You're lucky, I can only get U-Verse w/ AT&T. They won't install adsl for me.... Fortunately, I generally only play on LAX server w/ 28 ping. Interleave is a bi###.

    I suggest trying to jump on a different subnet to alter your routing. Clone your mac address on your modem/router, turn off, back on, and check your IP. If the first 2 octets are the same, xxx.xxx, then you're on the same subnet. If the first 2 octets are different, then you successfully jumped on a different subnet. Once on the new subnet, ping the problem server and see if it's resolved. Mind you, you may need to do this 5-10 times to finally get a completely different IP address. Good little trick to use to see if you can fix the routing yourself.

    If the above doesn't work, I suggest looking into wtfast.com or fixmylag.com. The first is a proxy gaming service giving you a more advantageous route w/ several servers in California to choose from. The second offers a proxy and vpn service to choose from. I've used both in the past, both worked great.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Dr_Mr_Ed will become famous soon enough Dr_Mr_Ed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    York, PA
    Posts
    954
    In the second one for Comcast, you see a jump as you hit Dallas. I was curious, since I ping 75ish to TX from PA and it's sometimes unplayable (especially any insta games). There are many threads around complaining about TX servers.

    But, out of curiosity, here's my tracert:

    Tracing route to 69.174.243.26 over a maximum of 30 hops

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 33 ms 28 ms 21 ms 174.49.224.1
    3 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms te-0-7-0-3-sur01.york.pa.pitt.comcast.net [68.85.43.249]
    4 12 ms 11 ms 12 ms te-0-12-0-2-ar03.lowerpaxton.pa.pitt.comcast.net [69.139.194.57]
    5 20 ms 19 ms 19 ms be-2-ar03.pittsburgh.pa.pitt.comcast.net [68.85.75.125]
    6 28 ms 27 ms 31 ms he-4-13-0-0-cr01.newyork.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.91.185]
    7 29 ms 31 ms 31 ms he-4-13-0-0-cr01.ashburn.va.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.85.97]
    8 44 ms 47 ms 43 ms he-4-5-0-0-cr01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net[68.86.89.158]
    9 65 ms 67 ms 63 ms pos-1-6-0-0-cr01.dallas.tx.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.85.153]
    10 64 ms 63 ms 63 ms pos-0-4-0-0-pe01.1950stemmons.tx.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.87.218]
    11 61 ms 62 ms 63 ms 173.167.58.14
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 71 ms 70 ms 68 ms 69.174.243.26

    Trace complete.


    I also spike hitting Dallas on comcast, but only coming from GA instead of all the way from CA. I think unless you're in a pretty small bubble around the TX area, most people ping pretty poorly there, but it's likely an infrastructure thing rather than an Quake server thing.

    Also, for your first tracert -- Level3 is notoriously bad. Many threads about them from a year ago when most of the northeast was suffering unbearable lag.
    Any sufficiently skilled player is indistinguishable from a hacker (to paraphrase Arthur C Clarke)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts