+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Message to the young players out there...

*CplDJon

Message to the young players out there...

Hi,

My name is Jonathan Bouchard, but in Quake you know me as CplDJon.

I started playing on computers in the 80's (Space Quest, King Quest...), I am 37 years old. Before Doom, there was no multiplayer gaming... ( I don't remember if Wolfenstein 3D had a multiplayer but my first lan party was playing cooperative Doom 1, then Doom 2-3... Quake, QuakeWorld... etc...)

I had a Clan of Quake3, Soldier of Fortune in these days... I played a lot online.

Many years have passed and now and with the years, I think the gaming community lost something important (for me at least):

The respect of other players.

In all these years, I never called someone names.

I don't do this in real life because intelligence tells me that insulting others for no reason isn't really a good thing, for my karma, for my life... Insults are not the way to behave to get your life running smootly, surrounded by friends and love.

And now, I have a bit of experience to proove myself that.

Sure we are surrounded by bullies everywhere, often our goverment is itself bullying it's population, but I don't think that doing the same is intelligent, since it does not settle the problem, it make it worse.

So my message to the intelligent and respectfull players out there:
    This is YOUR DUTY to answer bullies with love.

If you think this is gay, then you are probably a bully. In life, all our decisions come from 2 feeling: love or hate. You decide.

I wanted to let you know that if you feel alone, getting insulted because your newb or whatever for no reason... there is hope: you. Stay strong, don't get emotional and answer back with intelligence.

The worst thing to do, is do nothing. Then the bullies win.