+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Texture stretching issue

  1. #1
    Senior Member EmeraldTiger is on a distinguished road EmeraldTiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,097

    Texture stretching issue

    So I have a custom texture, a blue-colored version of the Strogg doorway used in the Warehouse. I go ahead and do a texture replace on those doors to swap them for the blue doors. (so I don't have to do a lot of re-adjustment) They look perfectly fine and dandy in the editor, as seen here:



    But when I compile and view it in-game, I am looking at this instead:



    Now, I realize I can fix it by doing some manual re-adjustment, by multiplying the number of repeats for the dimensions of the texture by the dimensions in the editor and moving them manually. But what I want to know is how to prevent it from happening in the first place, especially when a more complex situation arises and simply adjusting textures will become too cumbersome. (i.e. working with irregularly angled surfaces that have a texture with this same problem, and having to re-compile 20 times just to check if it's right)

    The texture has the exact same dimensions as the original (512x512), with the only difference being that this is a .TGA, not a .JPG. Do note, however, that I cannot use .JPG as this causes the map to crash with an error. The texture is not a part of a shader, so it is not being affected by the scale function. The original orange doors look the same in-game as they do in the editor, so they are fine - only the doors using my new blue texture are affected.

    Thanks in advance.
    Dont have had English lessons on school ?
    You dont understand word i just word do you?
    - Draven of LowLandLions

    Check out my blog, EmeraldProductions:
    http://emeraldproductions.weebly.com/

  2. #2
    Senior Member cityy is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    220
    Urelated but: About the JPGs, what error do you get?
    I will think about this issue throughout the day and write another post later.

  3. #3
    Senior Member EmeraldTiger is on a distinguished road EmeraldTiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,097
    Created a quick .jpg version and recompiled and tested, here is a sample of the error I get:

    Code:
    ^1Com_Error(): Requested feature was omitted at compile time
    ----- CL_Shutdown -----
    disconnect
    Closing SDL audio device...
    SDL audio device shut down.
    RE_Shutdown( 1 )
    GLimp_Shutdown: mode -1 lastMode -1
    -----------------------
    ----- Server Shutdown (Server fatal crashed: Requested feature was omitted at compile time
    ) -----
    ==== ShutdownGame ====
    AAS shutdown.
    ---------------------------
    Dont have had English lessons on school ?
    You dont understand word i just word do you?
    - Draven of LowLandLions

    Check out my blog, EmeraldProductions:
    http://emeraldproductions.weebly.com/

  4. #4
    Senior Member cityy is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    220
    Are you using GIMP? Make sure not save the JPGs in progressive mode.

  5. #5
    Senior Member EmeraldTiger is on a distinguished road EmeraldTiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,097
    I saved the new image unchecking progressive mode, .jpgs work now (thanks!). Unfortunately they still exhibit the texture multiplication problem.
    Last edited by EmeraldTiger; 06-06-2013 at 11:08 PM.
    Dont have had English lessons on school ?
    You dont understand word i just word do you?
    - Draven of LowLandLions

    Check out my blog, EmeraldProductions:
    http://emeraldproductions.weebly.com/

  6. #6
    Senior Member cityy is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    220
    Neither me nor Obsidian really know what is causing this..
    Obviously, if the yellow one works it must be a problem with the texture file.
    If the problem occurs with either tga and jpg, maybe the resolution got off somewhere in the editing process? Is it still power of 2? If in doubt maybe just take the yellow one again and convert it to blue another time.
    2nd idea, do you have a shader assigned to the blue door?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts