+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Yes they work great or no they are useless?

  1. #1
    *zzbios
    Guest

    Yes they work great or no they are useless?

    Game booster type programs what you think on this?


    or recommend

  2. #2
    Senior Member pikaluva13 will become famous soon enough pikaluva13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    East Lansing, MI
    Posts
    6,206
    I use it, but I have no clue if it does anything advantageous outside of closing stuff I don't want loaded.

  3. #3
    Member cladinshadows is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Default planet.
    Posts
    81
    If you consider 5-10% performance boost useful, then yeah.

    Imo it's easier and to just keep your discs de-fragmented and registry clean, and don't play while downloading and\or having lots of other programs opened.

  4. #4
    Senior Member pikaluva13 will become famous soon enough pikaluva13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    East Lansing, MI
    Posts
    6,206
    Quote Originally Posted by cladinshadows View Post
    If you consider 5-10% performance boost useful, then yeah.

    Imo it's easier and to just keep your discs de-fragmented and registry clean, and don't play while downloading and\or having lots of other programs opened.
    Now if only it'd leave my antivirus in Silent Mode. lol

  5. #5
    Senior Member YourDead is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by zzbios View Post
    Game booster type programs what you think on this?


    or recommend
    I would not use any of that stuff at all.
    They usually run a background process and sit in your tray icons.

    That means they take CPU sometimes and memory all the time.
    You trade a small increase in performance for a loss in memory.

    So what you get is minimal with another background process that might
    even interfere with game play.

    Also, if you have tray icon programs like Java Update for example, these will sniff
    the internet for program updates, usually depleting your connection.
    Disable these or uninstall completely.
    Last edited by YourDead; 04-21-2013 at 10:47 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member JustLOL is on a distinguished road JustLOL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    287
    Doing some manual optimization would give you much better and lasting results.

    - turn off unnecessary services: http://www.blackviper.com/service-co...onfigurations/
    - uninstall random crap you don't need: http://www.revouninstaller.com/ (under Scanning modes, select Moderate)
    - clean up temp files and other junk clogging up your disk space: http://www.filehippo.com/download_ccleaner/
    - defragment your hard drives: http://www.filehippo.com/download_defraggler/
    - download Sysinternals suite: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s...rnals/bb842062
    ---- use autoruns.exe to disable whatever you don't want to start with Windows (be careful and tweak only what you're sure about)
    ---- use procexp.exe to see what processes are running currently and how they might impact system performance (how much resources are they utilizing; physical memory, disk I/O, gpu, cpu, network I/O, interrupts, latency). Identify whatever you might not need all the time, and disable them via services.msc or autoruns.exe.
    ---- run procmon.exe and give it 10-20 minutes to collect data (File->Capture Events) about running processes. Then check Summaries in the Tools menu to see if there's anything off, eg. are there some random files that are being accessed thousands of times per minute (had that with one minecraft plugin, disabling it doubled my fps), any processes that get high cpu activity spikes at regular intervals, etc.
    - get a good security suite (I recommend Eset if you can afford it, very effective and easy on resources) and accompany it with Malwarebytes Antimalware and Spybot S&D, update them and let them sift through your files
    - see if there's anything you can upgrade in your PC, eg. if memory is your bottleneck, it's a very easy and cheap upgrade. Or a better new/used CPU that fits on your motherboard.
    - identify the components in your PC and check if there are any newer drivers on manufacturers' sites. Sound and network drivers (ethernet/802.11/modem) are often responsible for high DPC latency, and updating them might give you a performance boost.
    - learn about behavior of various processes that might be running while you play, eg. if you have adobe reader/java/whatever open while playing QL, their update checks might give you lag spikes. If you have tons of tabs open in your web browser, you might get FPS drops and all kinds of lags (happens to me if I have xxx tabs open in firefox). Disable anything you find unnecessary at the moment, and anything that might cause random lags.
    - tweak your ingame settings. In QL, setting r_enablepostprocess to 0 and r_vertexlight to 1/2 will give you a good performance boost, lowering resolution, too, but it might look like crap on your monitor.
    "Men no longer prefer blondes; today, gentlemen seem to prefer gentlemen."

  7. #7
    Senior Member infntnub is on a distinguished road infntnub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    633
    What JustLOL said ^^^

    Quake is one of the better games at giving you the ability to dumb things down to very extreme levels to improve performance as needed.

    I don't understand why you would need a gamebooster software of any sort for Quake Live - so I'm not sure how you would notice a benefit.

    Now if you play one of the more cinematically intense games like BF2 maybe you would see a difference (maybe not).
    Quake 3 1.16n Noghost iFreezetag

    -UE- .o2o. -g0d- n[2]p foq -end- *pWp* oBs H$ iD aM q3p {DR} *MS* uTk dT |c*|

    Great Memories That Will Last A Lifetime :~)

    http://www.instalounge.co.nr/

  8. #8
    Senior Member Adderall will become famous soon enough Adderall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    floori.d.a
    Posts
    3,434
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/member.php?38883-sectionate

    Amd 8350 - 4816.08 MHz on air
    Crosshair V
    Asus GTX660 DirectCU

    Quote Originally Posted by Undertaker12 View Post
    Thank you. You're video is ok... you need a better cfg than that, and you should try using electronic songs like my movie.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts