+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Problem with latency on some servers

Junior Member Trolles is on a distinguished road

Angry Problem with latency on some servers

Hey guys!

Lets see if someone can help me fix this issue, it's been driving me mad for days.

Problem is I usually have a 24-28 ping in Spain servers but during some hours of the day (around 7-10pm) ping goes crazy and stays around 120-200. Strangely enough when this happens I try and play in DE servers without problems. But sometimes it happens randomly in those servers too.

I have cable, I disabled wifi without any results, disconnected any other device from the router, installed netlimiter to check if there was any hidden connection on my pc, all without success. I guess it may be a routing problem or something but I am not an expert.

Do you have any ideas why this could be happening?

Thank you very much

Senior Member Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa's Avatar
    Join the Spain QL server.

Type \cl_CurrentServerAddress in the console (and hit enter). It will tell you the ip of the server you are connecting to. This looks like xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Write this number down, or toggle out and put it in a text file.

Open command prompt (start->run or Windows key+r, type in cmd and say ok or hit enter)

type in tracert xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (use the ip that you saved earlier for the xxx part, hit enter when done)

The first number on the left is called the "hop" and it represents a certain location on the way to the server whose ip you specified.

The next 3 numbers are the latencies in milliseconds. Usually the first hops have very low latency as they are closest to you.

The information on the right is either the ip, or the name information of the server for each given hop.

Don't worry too much about timeouts if they happen every time you run a tracert, some servers are set to refuse tracert packets.