+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: a couple questions

  1. #1
    Junior Member waY2Kool is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4

    a couple questions

    everything works great, except that it doesnt seem to want to remember my mouse and keyboard settings. am i doing something wrong? how to i make these settings stick when i go back & play next time? it's kind of random tho - sometimes it remembers, sometimes it doesnt.

    also, all my opponents look like green tank. boring. how do i make them appear as the model & skin they've chosen?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kepler-22b
    Posts
    8,889
    Quote Originally Posted by waY2Kool View Post
    everything works great, except that it doesnt seem to want to remember my mouse and keyboard settings. am i doing something wrong? how to i make these settings stick when i go back & play next time? it's kind of random tho - sometimes it remembers, sometimes it doesnt.
    It should. If it doesn't one way to force things is that when you have it set up how you like it:

    \writeconfig autoexec

    in the console.

    However this makes it so that changes to your settings won't save in the future unless you do the same.


    also, all my opponents look like green tank. boring. how do i make them appear as the model & skin they've chosen?
    http://www.quakelive.com/forum/showt...en-keel%29-fix

  3. #3
    Junior Member waY2Kool is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4
    excellent, thanks

    are you saying that any time i make a settings change in the future i'll have to type \writeconfig autoexec to make the new changes stick?

  4. #4
    *zzbios
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by waY2Kool View Post
    everything works great, except that it doesnt seem to want to remember my mouse and keyboard settings. am i doing something wrong? how to i make these settings stick when i go back & play next time? it's kind of random tho - sometimes it remembers, sometimes it doesnt.

    also, all my opponents look like green tank. boring. how do i make them appear as the model & skin they've chosen?

    It did that to me when I first started a few weeks back. then all of a sudden the keyboard and other settings took and stayed, the only difference I could see was that I started playing in Google chrome and I did nothing else.

    It was frustrating and I was glad they finally stayed changed good luck to you, hope someone that knows about this will help you, I would like to hear the reason also

  5. #5
    Senior Member NEPHIREM is on a distinguished road NEPHIREM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Varazdin, Croatia
    Posts
    343
    Quote Originally Posted by waY2Kool View Post
    excellent, thanks

    are you saying that any time i make a settings change in the future i'll have to type \writeconfig autoexec to make the new changes stick?
    Yes, that's right.

  6. #6
    Junior Member waY2Kool is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4
    okay, next question. how do i get my mouse wheel to work?!

    i've got a Logitech M310 with the SetPoint software installed.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kepler-22b
    Posts
    8,889
    Does it work in windows?

    You can bind it manually with the console, for example:

    bind mwheelup "dropweapon"
    bind mwheeldown "+button2"
    bind mouse3 "+zoom"

  8. #8
    Senior Member FlashSoul will become famous soon enough FlashSoul will become famous soon enough FlashSoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,223
    Quote Originally Posted by waY2Kool View Post
    excellent, thanks

    are you saying that any time i make a settings change in the future i'll have to type \writeconfig autoexec to make the new changes stick?
    The best thing would be for you to understand why.

    "/writeconfig" is a command used to... write your config to a file. The file's name is decided by the command's argument, the second word. So if you type "/writeconfig potato", it will create a file named potato.cfg and save your settings there. You can apply the settings saved in a file by using the command "/exec". So, to apply what's saved in potato.cfg, you would use "/exec potato.cfg".

    There is a special config file that Quake Live will look for and execute by itself without you having to use "/exec" every time you launch QL : autoexec.cfg. If you do "/writeconfig autoexec" as suggested, this file will be created with the settings you have at this time and everytime you'll launch QL, it will override your settings with those in autoexec.cfg. So if you make any change, you'll lose them at the next automatic execution of autoexec.cfg unless you save them in this very file.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Adderall will become famous soon enough Adderall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    floori.d.a
    Posts
    3,456
    Create a file and name it autoexec.cfg and just have it say exec your.cfg
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/member.php?38883-sectionate

    Amd 8350 - 4816.08 MHz on air
    Crosshair V
    Asus GTX660 DirectCU

    Quote Originally Posted by Undertaker12 View Post
    Thank you. You're video is ok... you need a better cfg than that, and you should try using electronic songs like my movie.

  10. #10
    Junior Member waY2Kool is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4
    great. thanks for the help! this was an issue 10 years ago with the original Q3, wasnt it? i recall having to do this crap before...i think.

    anyhoo...yeah, the mouse works perfectly fine in windows but in quake live the wheel is dead. weird. seems like binding the wheel within autoexec may have fixed it

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts