+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: maxping setting for PRO-spawned servers

  1. #1
    Senior Member theMolester is on a distinguished road theMolester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    591

    maxping setting for PRO-spawned servers

    Would be nice to be able to set a maximum ping in 'Start a Match'.
    Friend all SPAWN members to receive invites to Premium servers!! Click to learn SpaceCTF

  2. #2
    Senior Member pikaluva13 will become famous soon enough pikaluva13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    East Lansing, MI
    Posts
    6,206
    I'd F1 if not for the fact that people don't always have stable ping. What if somebody gets a lag spike and goes over the limit? Are they just going to get kicked for something that's not their normal ping?

  3. #3
    Senior Member filo is on a distinguished road filo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    606
    nice idea, set it to 55max? )

  4. #4
    Senior Member theMolester is on a distinguished road theMolester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    591
    Setting the maxping would not allow someone to join the server, it would not kick them once they are in. This is how it was for Q3.
    Friend all SPAWN members to receive invites to Premium servers!! Click to learn SpaceCTF

  5. #5
    Senior Member danstar will become famous soon enough danstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,807
    Quote Originally Posted by pikaluva13 View Post
    I'd F1 if not for the fact that people don't always have stable ping. What if somebody gets a lag spike and goes over the limit? Are they just going to get kicked for something that's not their normal ping?
    thats a standard thing in a lot of games, its how it should be - unstable connection = get lost.

  6. #6
    Senior Member pikaluva13 will become famous soon enough pikaluva13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    East Lansing, MI
    Posts
    6,206
    Quote Originally Posted by danstar View Post
    thats a standard thing in a lot of games, its how it should be - unstable connection = get lost.
    If they lag spike though you don't usually get kicked. For example, in other games when I get a lag spike, it'll just "freeze" the game. Then, if the issue stays for a longer period of time then it'll tell me I got dc'd by the server. However, if it was only a short period of time it will just continue on playing.

  7. #7
    Senior Member danstar will become famous soon enough danstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,807
    it really depends, and no one is asking for a pre-historic solution here, max-ping seems legit as those who just spike for a few secs wouldnt be harmed, rather than the ones who cross the limit too often, pretty much like the max time-outs one can have.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts