+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Graphics problem: Maps suddenly all wireframe since last night

  1. #1
    Senior Member SquirrlWrangler is on a distinguished road SquirrlWrangler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    242

    Graphics problem: Maps suddenly all wireframe since last night

    Starting last night, I started noticing graphics anomalies in-game. For example, parts of Purgatory were showing wire-frames. Some games had the problem, some didn't. This morning, I started up a practice match in Longest Yard and the sky is completely wire-framed. I haven't changed my config at all. This problem just appeared. It occurs in both Firefox and Safari for Mac OS X 10.8.2.

    Any ideas what's causing this and how to fix it?

    I've attached three screenshots, from Longest Yard, Purgatory, and Skyward:
    http://members.shaw.ca/techforum/quake3.jpg
    http://members.shaw.ca/techforum/quake1.jpg
    http://members.shaw.ca/techforum/quake2.jpg
    Last edited by SquirrlWrangler; 12-02-2012 at 04:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member stownr will become famous soon enough stownr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    1,565
    This is almost always corrupted .pk3 files.or maps not made by id that contain bad texture files.
    Have you downloaded any maps not made by id lately? if so, just remove them and see if that fixes it.
    The fix for this is to remove any non id made stuff from your baseq3 folder or delete the id software folder completely and let it re download the maps.
    *back up any configs or hud files you may have first!
    Last edited by stownr; 12-02-2012 at 05:22 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member SquirrlWrangler is on a distinguished road SquirrlWrangler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    242
    Actually, I did install some training maps (e.g., raztrainql_beta3.pk3) a few days ago. I'll remove those and see if it fixes the problem.

    Thanks for your help.

  4. #4
    Senior Member swampy will become famous soon enough swampy will become famous soon enough swampy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    The Bar at Drunk Clan
    Posts
    2,620
    Quote Originally Posted by SquirrlWrangler View Post
    Actually, I did install some training maps (e.g., raztrainql_beta3.pk3) a few days ago. I'll remove those and see if it fixes the problem.

    Thanks for your help.
    That's probably it.. Same thing happened to me. Fixed upon removal. I think it was 1 or 2 maps.. not all of them in the pk3.
    Drunk Clan Motto--- "Have Fun, Everyone is Welcome"
    drunk clan

    Stay drunk, Play drunk and chill

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts