+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Name Your Server!?!?

  1. #1
    Junior Member TheSKO is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    14

    Name Your Server!?!?

    Let Pro members name their server. I think I have posted this before. Sorry if it goes somewhere else. Why can't we name our servers? Worried about crude names or something kill their pro account and make them buy another one if they are an @$$.

  2. #2
    Senior Member KaasMan is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    The land of cheese
    Posts
    481
    I like to be able to see whose server it is. And I also don't like crappy server names. Couldn't be happier the way it is

  3. #3
    Senior Member FlashSoul will become famous soon enough FlashSoul will become famous soon enough FlashSoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,223
    You will be able to do it eventually. Look in the Subscribers' forum.

  4. #4
    Senior Member KaasMan is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    The land of cheese
    Posts
    481
    I couldn't be happier the way it is. They had to change it. Typical.
    Last edited by KaasMan; 12-01-2012 at 07:46 PM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member FlashSoul will become famous soon enough FlashSoul will become famous soon enough FlashSoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,223
    Quote Originally Posted by KaasMan View Post
    I couldn't be happier the way it is. They had to change it. Typical.
    Yes. For some reason, when there are conflicting opinions and a decision needs to be made, one of the two sides is gonna be displeased. How strange.

  6. #6
    Senior Member KaasMan is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    The land of cheese
    Posts
    481
    Typical that it's always conflicting. And that is rather strange lol...

  7. #7
    Senior Member RockvilleRideOn is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Bethesda, MD
    Posts
    419
    They say that it requires "so much effort", but seeing as that some people already have the ability, I'd say it's ** to say it's hard to give the ability to all pro members... I don't think they will ever get this done guys, they just want to appease us..

  8. #8
    Senior Member RockvilleRideOn is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Bethesda, MD
    Posts
    419
    I wish they would actually not insult our intelligence so much as they do.... What is the big deal with this, if users can already name their servers, then why is it so hard to extend to all pro users... I wish SyncError would explain this instead of just saying that they hope to do it in the future... I feel like it isn't in the plans and that I am just being appeased with unclear replies... Don't tell me they had to do beta testing when they gave each player that has the ability now the option to name the server.
    Quote Originally Posted by RockvilleRideOn View Post
    They say that it requires "so much effort", but seeing as that some people already have the ability, I'd say it's ** to say it's hard to give the ability to all pro members... I don't think they will ever get this done guys, they just want to appease us..

  9. #9
    Senior Member FlashSoul will become famous soon enough FlashSoul will become famous soon enough FlashSoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,223
    Why do you think you are entitled to have details about the code base, what needs to be changed on it and how hard it is to do it?

  10. #10
    Senior Member RockvilleRideOn is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Bethesda, MD
    Posts
    419
    Obviously I don't, but the ease with which they give people the feature arouses suspicion on what they said... That it requires much effort... I am the biggest pain on the forum, I know that... But I never accept statements that do not appear to have truth value... Unless they are justifiable... All I ask for is clarification on why giving ability to change sv_hostname is not enough for this... I have spoken to many users all with the ability, and they say it is just that cvar, and then the match browser shows the name as it is...
    Quote Originally Posted by FlashSoul View Post
    Why do you think you are entitled to have details about the code base, what needs to be changed on it and how hard it is to do it?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts