+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: is it essential to play at low graphics?

  1. #11
    Senior Member pikaluva13 will become famous soon enough pikaluva13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    East Lansing, MI
    Posts
    6,206
    Quote Originally Posted by brainwreck View Post
    keep in mind though, 125fps is nessessary to play this game so if you are getting less than 125 you DO need to lower graphics to play well
    It works fine for me at 60fps.

    I do realize you're suggesting that they use 125 over 60, and that they should do whatever is possible to get 125 *instead* of 60.

  2. #12
    Senior Member brainwreck is on a distinguished road brainwreck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    401
    Quote Originally Posted by pikaluva13 View Post
    It works fine for me at 60fps.

    I do realize you're suggesting that they use 125 over 60, and that they should do whatever is possible to get 125 *instead* of 60.
    yeah, hitscans do not work properly without 125fps/cl_maxpackets 125

    u should be using 125 pika

  3. #13
    Senior Member burn is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    157
    is it essential to play at low graphics? no.

  4. #14
    Senior Member pikaluva13 will become famous soon enough pikaluva13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    East Lansing, MI
    Posts
    6,206
    Quote Originally Posted by brainwreck View Post
    yeah, hitscans do not work properly without 125fps/cl_maxpackets 125

    u should be using 125 pika
    I can't. My laptop doesn't stay stable at 125 fps :<

  5. #15
    Member applev is on a distinguished road applev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    70
    Quote Originally Posted by pikaluva13 View Post
    My laptop doesn't stay stable at 125 fps :<
    IMO, it's better to lower the resolution rather than to lose 125 fps.

  6. #16
    Senior Member pikaluva13 will become famous soon enough pikaluva13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    East Lansing, MI
    Posts
    6,206
    Quote Originally Posted by anvi View Post
    IMO, it's better to lower the resolution rather than to lose 125 fps.
    For some reason I never even considered that option rofl. I might have to try it and see how it works out.
    (Why didn't anyone else ever suggest that? xD)

  7. #17
    *Xaquun
    Guest
    I have decided not to use forced or bright enemy colors..i know they help me a bit but they make game lose so much atmosphere. well i may regret it later and use them later hah.

  8. #18
    *baerlic
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by pikaluva13 View Post
    For some reason I never even considered that option rofl. I might have to try it and see how it works out.
    (Why didn't anyone else ever suggest that? xD)
    Because it's stupidly obvious.

  9. #19
    Senior Member pikaluva13 will become famous soon enough pikaluva13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    East Lansing, MI
    Posts
    6,206
    Quote Originally Posted by baerlic View Post
    Because it's stupidly obvious.
    Actually, I figured out the reason why nobody suggested it: The screen doesn't automatically stretch like other games do.

  10. #20
    Member Heafmo is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    32
    change full screen res with r_mode

    You don't need flat textures. In fact if they're too flat you will have a problem learning maps due to depth perception being impaired.

    However If I remember rightly if you just use picmip 16 from default settings you get nice clean textures yet there's still enough shadows/shading to allow easy depth perception.

    Simpleitems 1, is nice. So is removing your gun off screen with GunZ GunY and GunZ but you probably won't benefit from that yet. If a setting doesn't make sense to you, don't do it, just like I'll probably never have jump on anything other than space, regardless of game I'm playing.

    by the way I'm using an i3 and gtx460 and my framerate stays at 125 yet drops to like 118 for a nanosecond every 4-5 seconds,... hardly noticeable but whut?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts