+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: A new business plan for quakelive

Senior Member TheGreen3astard has a little shameless behaviour in the past

A new business plan for quakelive

If you will consider for a moment that limiting the map pools is not a very effective way to get users to play, pay or stay, please entertain the following ideas for a different way to achieve your objective. (*i am a paid pro member)

1. Re-invigorate userbase
    - put all maps in. ALL. Lets go back to net marketing 101 - eyeballs. The userbase itself is the core asset - grow it - and fast.
    - remove 30 second wait time start game ad
    - encourage play - not hinder it.

2. Try new partner based - not user based rev models
    - the ads - inside - the game. add more of them. Way more of them. If you pay - you dont see them. This means users dont wait to play (30 seconds) but will see more ads on the walls of the game. Personally - i dont even mind them within the game.

- Site sponsorship - you could do a WAY better job of letting advertising partners - totally -sub-brand the quakelive.com site - with interactive / mouseover drop-downs which play new game ads/videos

- get rid of your automated ad network - that shows gamers swiffer sweeper ads for housewives - or software for physio therapy websites (to name 2)

- A better - more web 2.0 style of community website. End the heavy handed moderators. Allow copy paste images - or videos form youtube. Make your friends and clans part of the social fabric. Get likes going. All your website could create more value for partners

- read and interact with the users/members on your forum

- i would still pay to customize my server (to go faster than default game) ... but there would be more users - to play (if not hindered from playing - see above)

3. Other initiatives to grow userbase could include:

- releasing ALL the old quake maps / levels back to version ONE