+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: game freezes with sound looping - lasts about 10-15 seconds

  1. #11
    Senior Member julios is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    201
    hehe cheers

  2. #12
    Member ANDRAS is an unknown quantity at this point ANDRAS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    motherwell
    Posts
    71

    Question quake live freezing

    Hello friends,

    in the last week iv been experiencing random freezes during a game.
    The game gets a little stutter y then freezes completely leaving me with no option but to turn the pc off at the wall.

    Im not an expert like most of you and im just learning so all iv done is scan for virus etc, system restore. Uninstalled recently installed programs.

    can anyone advise me on what actions to take to resolve this issue please.

    thank you.

  3. #13
    Member ANDRAS is an unknown quantity at this point ANDRAS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    motherwell
    Posts
    71
    its happened again i just want to have a few games....

  4. #14
    Senior Member NEPHIREM is on a distinguished road NEPHIREM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Varazdin, Croatia
    Posts
    343
    Tried any other games? Maybe it's not about QL, maybe your PC overheats?

  5. #15
    Junior Member Krieg is on a distinguished road Krieg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    12
    Post here info about your hardware, os, settings, browser, cfg.

  6. #16
    Member ANDRAS is an unknown quantity at this point ANDRAS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    motherwell
    Posts
    71
    Quote Originally Posted by KROCK View Post
    Post here info about your hardware, os, settings, browser, cfg.
    Its a very basic set up but i shouldnt have any problems running QL. I often use the mrs notebook and it runs a dream.
    anyway this is my basic info. Let me know if you need ore detailed info. thanks for your help.
    Also i have these messages in my even viewer. i dont know if they are related.

    Kernal prosesser power......Kernel-Processor-Power Some processor performance power management features have been disabled due to a known firmware problem.


    Overall
    General
    Operating System Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
    Central Processor Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
    User Name Owner
    Graphics
    Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
    Video Memory 128.00 MB
    Screen Resolution 1280 x 1024
    Storage
    Total Memory 1.50 GB
    Free Memory 896.57 MB
    Total Hard disk 148.89 GB
    Free Hard disk 119.44 GB
    I/O
    Mouse HID-compliant mouse
    Keyboard USB Input Device

    Top
    Operating System
    Computer System
    Computer Name OWNER-PC
    User Name Owner
    Organization N/A
    Operating System
    OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
    OS Version 6.1.7601
    Service Pack 1.0
    Product ID 00359-OEM-9811333-38642
    System Up Time 29/08/2012 21:22:44
    Internet Explorer Version 9.0.8112.16421
    Microsoft DirectX Version 4.09.00.0904
    OpenGL Version 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255)
    Registry
    Maximum Size 682 MB
    Current Size 48 MB
    Status OK

    Top
    Processor MainBoard
    Central Processor
    CPU Name Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
    Code Name Model 2, Stepping 9
    Manufacturer GenuineIntel
    Current Clock Speed 2788 Mhz
    Max Clock Speed 2788 Mhz
    Voltage 0V
    External Clock 100 Mhz
    Serial Number BFEBF9FF00000F29
    CPU ID x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9
    Socket Designation Socket 478
    Internal Cache 20 KB
    Internal Cache 20 KB
    External Cache 512 KB
    External Cache 512 KB
    Motherboard
    Model SiS-651
    Manufacturer
    Serial Number
    BIOS Name )Phoenix - Award WorkstationBIOS v6.00PG
    BIOS Vendor Phoenix Technologies, LTD
    SMBIOS Version 6.00 PG
    BIOS Date 10/02/2003
    BIOS Features
    ISA is supported Yes
    PCI is supported Yes
    Plug and Play is supported Yes
    APM is supported Yes
    BIOS is Upgradable (Flash) Yes
    BIOS shadowing is allowed Yes
    ESCD support is available Yes
    Boot from CD is supported Yes
    Selectable Boot is supported Yes
    BIOS ROM is socketed Yes
    EDD (Enhanced Disk Drive) Specification is supported Yes
    Int 13h - 5.25 / 360 KB Floppy Services are supported Yes
    Int 13h - 5.25 /1.2MB Floppy Services are supported Yes
    Int 13h - 3.5 / 720 KB Floppy Services are supported Yes
    Int 13h - 3.5 / 2.88 MB Floppy Services are supported Yes
    Int 5h, Print Screen Service is supported Yes
    Int 9h, 8042 Keyboard services are supported Yes
    Int 14h, Serial Services are supported Yes
    Int 17h, printer services are supported Yes
    Int 10h, CGA/Mono Video Services are supported Yes
    ACPI supported Yes
    USB Legacy is supported Yes
    AGP is supported Yes
    LS-120 boot is supported Yes
    ATAPI ZIP Drive boot is supported Yes

    Top
    Memory Device
    Memory Resource
    Total Memory 1.50 GB
    Used Memory 630.43 MB
    Free Memory 905.13 MB
    Memory Usage 41%
    Physical Memory
    Memory Bank Bank0/1
    Description Physical Memory 0
    Device Locator A0
    Capacity 512.00 MB
    Speed NULL Mhz
    Manufacturer NULL
    Data Width 64 bit
    Memory Type SDRAM
    Form Factor DIMM
    Physical Memory
    Memory Bank Bank2/3
    Description Physical Memory 1
    Device Locator A1
    Capacity 1.00 GB
    Speed NULL Mhz
    Manufacturer NULL
    Data Width 64 bit
    Memory Type SDRAM
    Form Factor DIMM

    Top
    Drives
    Disk Drives
    Name WDC WD1600AABB-56PUA0 ATA Device
    Media Type Fixed hard disk media
    Capability 148.99 GB
    Interface Type IDE
    Partitions 2
    Total Cylinders 19449
    Total Heads 255
    Total Sectors 312448185
    Total Tracks 4959495
    Tracks Per Cylinder 255
    Bytes Per Sector 512
    Sectors Per Track 63
    S.M.A.R.T Support Yes
    Current Temperature 0C (32F)
    CD-ROM Drive
    Name HL-DT-ST CD-RW GCE-8481B ATA Device
    Drive D:
    Transfer Rate -1
    Status OK
    CD-ROM Drive
    Name HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GWA-4164B ATA Device
    Drive E:
    Transfer Rate -1
    Status OK
    IDE Controller
    Name SiS PCI IDE Controller
    Manufacturer Silicon Integrated System
    Status OK
    IDE Controller
    Name ATA Channel 0
    Manufacturer (Standard IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers)
    Status OK
    IDE Controller
    Name ATA Channel 1
    Manufacturer (Standard IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers)
    Status OK

    Top
    Display
    Video Adapter
    Name NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
    Video Processor GeForce FX 5200
    Manufacturer NVIDIA
    Video Architecture VGA
    DAC Type Integrated RAMDAC
    Memory Size 128.00 MB
    Memory Type Unknown
    Video Mode 1280 x 1024 x 4294967296 colors
    Current Refresh Rate 60 Hz
    Driver Version 9.6.8.5
    Driver Date 09/10/2006
    Monitor
    Name Generic PnP Monitor
    Screen Height 1024
    Screen Width 1280
    Status OK

    Top
    Network
    Local Area Connection
    Product Name Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
    Service Name RTL8023xp
    Manufacturer Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
    MAC Address 00:0A:E6:8B:9E:42
    Other Device
    Sound Device
    Name USB Audio Device
    Manufacturer (Generic USB Audio)
    Status OK
    Mouse
    Name HID-compliant mouse
    Manufacturer Microsoft
    Buttons 0
    Status OK
    Keyboard
    Name USB Input Device
    Description Enhanced (101- or 102-key)
    Function Keys 12
    Status OK
    USB Controller
    Product Name SiS 7001 PCI to USB Open Host Controller
    Manufacturer Silicon Integrated Systems
    Protocol Supported Universal Serial Bus
    Status OK
    USB Controller
    Product Name SiS 7001 PCI to USB Open Host Controller
    Manufacturer Silicon Integrated Systems
    Protocol Supported Universal Serial Bus
    Status OK
    USB Controller
    Product Name SiS 7001 PCI to USB Open Host Controller
    Manufacturer Silicon Integrated Systems
    Protocol Supported Universal Serial Bus
    Status OK
    USB Controller
    Product Name Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
    Manufacturer (Standard USB Host Controller)
    Protocol Supported Universal Serial Bus
    Status OK

    ETA, I have 2gb ram but it only ever shows 1.5

  7. #17
    Junior Member spectre521 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5

    Stuttering Game Freezing

    I too have incurred the same issue, however I experienced it before the update.
    I have core 2 duo 2.66 and 4 gb ram. Windows XP 64, service patch 2. GTS 250 video card. I used to run this system as a dual video card system.

    Previously I experienced this 8 to 10 times while in games, and one time at the load screen. I, too, had to do a hard restart of the cmptr. Upon conferring with a friend, we found I could hit ALT ESC at least twice. Then the game would be in a window. Frozen but in a window. I would then click the quake live tab on the windows taskbar and the game returns.
    Thinking I was experiencing a failing v-card. I replaced the v-card with its twin sister. This seemed to fix the issue.

    Well yesterday I got the same problem. But the Alt Esc fix didn't work. The Connection Error indicator is seen as well. Hmmmm.

    My next "fix" will be replacing the computers ram. I have the latest Nvidia drivers on a clean install. So if this issue persists, well I think the issue lies elsewhere.

  8. #18
    Senior Member julios is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    201
    sigh, this has just started happening again to me all of a sudden: started again yesterday or day before.

    I've tried disabling my sound and mouse input to eliminate those factors, and it even happens with no sound while speccing.

    Same thing as before: game freezes with sound looping over and over for about 15 seconds and then unfreezes.

    I run a real clean ship, xp sp3 no unnecessary background crap. Happens no matter whether I use firefox plugin or qlprism.

    gonna test whether it happens in windowed mode.

    also noticed that i sometimes get a really long delay when quitting out of quake.

  9. #19
    Senior Member julios is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    201
    ok happens in windows mode...

    BUT

    when i switch to an old account (that is regular unlike my premium account, and has FAR less friends) there are no freezes!

    So this is something related to my account - maybe i have way too many friends, or maybe some files associated with my account are corrupt. I thought i deleted all the files before reinstalling qlive yesterday, but when i reinstalled qlprism it didn't ask me for my login information (was already saved).

    gonna try deleting friends - if that doesn't work i'll try reinstalling everything from scratch properly.

    will report back either way.

    i hope the ppl up top are listening

  10. #20
    Senior Member julios is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    201
    ok had over 100 friends, deleted about 50 friends and now i freeze MUCH less often. Deleted some more friends, gonna see how that plays out.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts