+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Game Video Lag/Delay on Windows 7 x64 & AMD HD Radeon 7850 GFX - Help

Hybrid View

Senior Member c3 is on a distinguished road

Game Video Lag/Delay on Windows 7 x64 & AMD HD Radeon 7850 GFX - Help

I recently picked up Quake again after some time and I have not been able to resolve this issue. In-game Video-Lag (Input lag). I attributed this 'floaty, squishy and delayed' feeling to the fact that I haven't played in so long I figured these were the new physics of Quake Live in comparison to Quake 3. I'm a veteran of Q3 so I have a good understanding of how it 'should' feel. Thanks in advance for any help on the matter.

Here's the problem:

I experience a 'floaty and squishy' feel when moving around the map. When jumping, it almost feels as if I'm jumping on the moon with limited gravity. It seems that all movements are slightly delayed, as well as other player's movements. In fights, it feels as if I'm several frames behind as I can never get the first shot in and I often wake up dead not knowing what just happened until it was too late (Yes, enter your jokes here). Keep in mind that this problem also occurs when I launch my own practice game. This is not an Internet latency related issue nor do I believe it's a mouse-lag issue. Its undoubtedly a video rendering/lag issue.

Out of curiosity, I launched Quake 3 and the problem was gone. There was no delay and all movements happened instantly without delay. Shooting rockets came out quickly as opposed to feeling as if I have a 150-200ms ping. Then again, this is Quake Live, not Quake 3.

I have tried several things to fix the issue, so if you can offer a helping hand, please look over my system specs and the things I have tried to resolve this unbearable video-lag issue.

System Specs:

i5-2500K Processor
    Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 Motherboard
    16GB DDR3 1333MHz
    AMD HD Radeon 7850 (Fairly high end card and it runs everything else without issue)