+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Demo?

  1. #1
    Junior Member zero557 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    26

    Demo?

    Still trying to understand some console commands, and even after looking through some guides to Quake Live I can't find much about demoes. Can someone explain to me what demoes are and what their purpose is?

  2. #2
    Senior Member FlashSoul will become famous soon enough FlashSoul will become famous soon enough FlashSoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,223
    A demo is basically a record of the gamestates your client receives. This effectively allow you to replay a match but it's not a video format : the engine has to interpret to data and recreate everything just like when you're playing.

    "cg_autoAction" 1 and 3 record them automatically.
    "record" does so manually
    "cl_demoRecordMessage" let you hide the demo record message.
    "demo demoname" let you play it back

    There's probably more to it, I'm not an expert.

  3. #3
    Junior Member quizel is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    17
    The idea behind a demo is that you can watch the game again. It could help you improve your game and find out why you made some mistakes.

  4. #4
    Junior Member zero557 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    26
    I tried making a demo, and when I load it up I'm stuck. I can zoom in and out, but I can't move or fire. Have I done something wrong?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa is a jewel in the rough Lorfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kepler-22b
    Posts
    8,357
    Quote Originally Posted by zero557 View Post
    I tried making a demo, and when I load it up I'm stuck. I can zoom in and out, but I can't move or fire. Have I done something wrong?
    When you "load it up"? You mean when you play the demo? Why would you move or fire while playing a demo? I'm confused :-(

  6. #6
    Junior Member zero557 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    26
    I started recording a demo just before I started a match against a bot, and then after a while of playing I stopped it, played it and I was just standing there, doing nothing.

  7. #7
    Junior Member zero557 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    26
    Nevermind, fixed

  8. #8
    *ktm
    Guest
    You could download the Quake Live Demo Tools. It showes all of the demos you and only YOU recorded. Correct me if I'm wrong I think you could recieve demos from friends over e-mail and view them on QLDT.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts