+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Quake Live Mapping

Senior Member o0MrCheesy0o is on a distinguished road o0MrCheesy0o's Avatar

Question Quake Live Mapping

I'd like to get into mapping, and make a map for Quake Live. I have no idea what I'm doing though. What program/s do I need, and what do I need to know? I've very little experience and besides a few maps in Q1 using Worldcraft I've done nothing. I want to learn though

Is there a hub-site for multiplayer Quake mapping?
    Nom nom nom nom!

Senior Member cityy is on a distinguished road
    Making maps for Quake Live is not officially supported, though you can use Quake 3 and add QL support to your map.

You need:
    - GTKradiant 1.4 : http://cityy.explicits.de/uploads/mi...0-Q3RTCWET.exe
    - quakelivedec.exe (to decrypt/encrypt QL pk3s) : http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15072710/QL/quakelivedec.exe
    - Tutorial: http://gotdelirium.com/bubba/bubba.p...m/mapping.html
    - Quake mapping community for questions: http://www.quake3world.com/forum/vie...64fc96d74dd8cb

To find out more about decrypting and encrypting QL pk3s use google or the forum search. There are quite a few threads about it. Hope that helps.

Edit: More helpful links here.
    Last edited by cityy; 04-13-2012 at 10:47 AM.

Senior Member ybl is on a distinguished road ybl's Avatar
    is it possible to edit the existing maps too? just asking, because there´s always the copyright issue. would be secure to edit the existing maps, so they work better in other game modes
    CA with <16 slots is nothing.

It is possible but very difficult if you dont have the .map source file. If you decompile a .bsp the information about texture alignments gets lost and you have to readjust everything.