+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: A little story.

Senior Member Chibers will become famous soon enough Chibers's Avatar

A little story.

This was intended as a quick reply to CooloutAC in the q2 thread, but I ended up ranting. Woops.

inb4 cool story bro.

Quote Originally Posted by CooloutAC View Post
    and lets face it most the people left playing ql right now are mostly ra3 guys and old school hardcore quakers that prolly started in q1. we should do a poll. you might be right.
    INCOMING RANT

I started playing Quake with QL. Came here from CS with a lot of friends, and I'm just about the only one left standing from that original surge. Hell, last year about two weeks before QuakeCon one of my close rl cs friends and I introduced this game to a friend of ours who had never played a shooter on the pc before. t3/4 CA and Duelers may know him as Weeblesucks.

We sat there for about three hours watching him cuss, punch his table, make up words to call people who were completely destroying him because he didn't have any idea how to play other than run at people and try to hit shots. He eventually said after losing 10-11 games in a row with a total of maybe 15 frags "This game is such ********. I don't see how anyone can play this kind of game. You just get destroyed constantly."

Came over to his apartment after work the next day, and he was on playing CA. He'd been playing for a straight six hours already that day. Completely addicted. He'd gotten a little better. A little strafing here and there, had a bit of an idea on what guns would work better in situations than others. He'd get upset, saying "I don't get it. I keep getting ***** but I can't stop playing." He'd go out with me for a smoke, then immediately come back in and get back on to keep trying to better himself.