+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: plz explain grafic settings

  1. #1
    Senior Member ybl is on a distinguished road ybl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,486

    plz explain grafic settings

    i was messing around with grafic settings, and im not getting it. took me an hour to get back my default settings. X<
    on some settings my fps drop to 75 (grafixcard is a 5850, this should run quake @ 200fps i guess...)
    sometimes you need to do a vid_restart twice until setting is executed, some settings are activated, but not executed (like dynamic lights), and so on.
    can someone plz explain what effect the options have, maybe include screenshot, thx in advance
    CA with <16 slots is nothing.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Adderall will become famous soon enough Adderall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    floori.d.a
    Posts
    3,400
    what settings? What are you trying to do? - Force Vysnc off via CCC
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/member.php?38883-sectionate

    Amd 8350 - 4816.08 MHz on air
    Crosshair V
    Asus GTX660 DirectCU

    Quote Originally Posted by Undertaker12 View Post
    Thank you. You're video is ok... you need a better cfg than that, and you should try using electronic songs like my movie.

  3. #3
    Senior Member ybl is on a distinguished road ybl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,486
    i dont have vsync on!
    heres the shot, how can these settings kill my grafxcard down to 75fps?!

    http://www.pic-upload.de/view-8808118/lofps.jpg.html


    maybe someone can make a tree, which settings enable which subsettings, or smthng. r_intensity dometimes has an effect, sometimes not. i need explanation for this,
    grmbl
    CA with <16 slots is nothing.

  4. #4
    *MartianBuddy
    Guest
    really i am always surprised to see this kind of ppl having low fps with brand new graphic card. I mean i play with a 10 years old ATI card and it's 125fps stable on all maps. I bet there is some odd problems with 58xx ati series since it's not the only thread i see with FPS problems+ati58xx. Or maybe it's not due to your gfx card...

  5. #5
    Senior Member crucci is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,873
    Did you turn post processing or bloom on/off?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Adderall will become famous soon enough Adderall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    floori.d.a
    Posts
    3,400
    What are the rest of your cpu specs? You don't have vsync on in game or you don't have vsync enabled in your Ati CCC? Are you running post proc or bloom?
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/member.php?38883-sectionate

    Amd 8350 - 4816.08 MHz on air
    Crosshair V
    Asus GTX660 DirectCU

    Quote Originally Posted by Undertaker12 View Post
    Thank you. You're video is ok... you need a better cfg than that, and you should try using electronic songs like my movie.

  7. #7
    Senior Member crucci is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,873
    "CPU specs"? If he's got a 5850 his CPU has to be more than good enough for this game.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Adderall will become famous soon enough Adderall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    floori.d.a
    Posts
    3,400
    there are a ton of video settings, here are just a few

    r_ambientScale
    r_detailtextures
    r_intensity
    r_mapoverbrightbits
    r_overbrightbits
    r_gamma
    r_texturemode
    r_vertexlight
    r_fullbright
    r_lightmap
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/member.php?38883-sectionate

    Amd 8350 - 4816.08 MHz on air
    Crosshair V
    Asus GTX660 DirectCU

    Quote Originally Posted by Undertaker12 View Post
    Thank you. You're video is ok... you need a better cfg than that, and you should try using electronic songs like my movie.

  9. #9
    Senior Member ybl is on a distinguished road ybl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,486
    i get the same grafic and it runs normal, dunno what the reason is

    and i still dont know, what does "lightning model " mean. what is the effect of vertex-light f.e.
    why do i sometimes get high quality lightning, and with other settings everything looks flat.
    fullbright - ok, thats a no go
    the other "light" stuff isnt good either
    my lightning model is at "custom"

    why is r_vertexlight default 0
    with 1 the lightningeffect is gone, with 0 its quality lightning i would say. but then it says custom lightning model, whats the trick?

    btw, this is not a performance thread in the first line, but this is interesting too
    CA with <16 slots is nothing.

  10. #10
    Senior Member ybl is on a distinguished road ybl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,486
    Quote Originally Posted by _adderall View Post
    there are a ton of video settings, here are just a few

    r_ambientScale
    r_detailtextures
    r_intensity
    r_mapoverbrightbits
    r_overbrightbits
    r_gamma
    r_texturemode
    r_vertexlight
    r_fullbright
    r_lightmap
    f.e. intensity is sometimes not doing anything, it depends on other setting, but i cant tell which
    same with dynamic light (rockets shining)

    sometimes even the crosshair gets dark

    i would like to achieve a grafic, where every item/player is shining, and the textures are more flat grey. i have this already, but im not sure, why
    Last edited by ybl; 02-07-2011 at 03:13 PM.
    CA with <16 slots is nothing.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts